Olszewski Wins Democratic Primary for Baltimore County Executive

In a down-to-the-wire election race that required officials to recount by hand some 87,222 ballots, Johnny Olszewski Jr. was affirmed on July 14 as the winner of the Democratic primary for Baltimore County Executive. The former state delegate beat second-place finisher state Sen. Jim Brochin by just 17 votes. County Councilwoman Vicki Almond remained in third, and Carney resident Kevin Marron finished fourth.

In the Maryland general election on Nov. 6, Olszewski will face-off against Republican nominee Al Redmer Jr., who has represented District 8 in the Maryland House of Delegates and served as Maryland Insurance Commissioner under two governors.

Towson Chamber of Commerce Welcomes Members

At its July meeting, the Towson Chamber of Commerce welcomed three members to its board of directors. 

Nancy Hofmann, a 30-year real estate veteran, is new to the board. Hofmann was formerly a branch vice president for Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage. Earlier this year she formed the Towson Home Team, part of LiveTowson.com, with partner Jamie Kass. Mark Shulman, who rejoined the board, is a dentist whose practice is based in Towson. He has been actively involved with the Chamber of Commerce for 20 years.

At the July meeting, Sarah Ryan was elected board president. Ryan, who had previously served as vice president, is a community market leader for the Baltimore, Towson and Timonium markets of SECU. 

Lisa Ann Wetzel Named Assistant Head of School at The Institute of Notre Dame

The Institute of Notre Dame has named Lisa Ann Wetzel as Assistant Head of School beginning with the 2018-2019 academic school year. In this position, Wetzel will ensure that IND’s mission, philosophy and core values are integrated into all aspects of students’ academic and extra-curricular activities. 

Wetzel brings diverse career experience and expertise to IND. For the past three years, she served as academic dean at The Harford Day
School, where she was responsible for the overall academic program of the school as well as the social and emotional aspects of the curriculum. She also developed and led diversity and multicultural training for faculty and staff. 

Before her experience at the Harford Day School, she was the science department chair and a science teacher at St. Paul’s School for Girls, where she implemented the Zee Fambrough Women in Science speaker series; participated on the Academic Council; and served as a grade-level dean, student advisor and new teacher mentor.

York Manor Makos Are Freestate League Champions

Swimming in the Maryland Freestate Swim League, the York Manor Makos posted an undefeated season, making them League Champions. With a record of 8-0, the team of 210 swimmers performed exceptionally against rival pools Stoneleigh, Campus Cabana and Hampton. 

Led by Head Coach Marge Bowers and Assistant Coaches Gordon Amato and Andrew Snyder, the Makos showed determination and spirit in their quest to improve performances every week. Bowers credits daily hard work and depth in each age group for the team’s success. 

Seniors on the team, which is comprised of swimmers ages 5 to 18, included Shea Boecker, Taylor Mann, Shannon Lynch, Katie Eppler and John Granruth. Among many season highlights: Swimmer Sam Garthright broke the 10-plus-year pool record held by Ben Hogan in the 100-meter freestyle.

Blakehurst Residents Award Scholarships

Blakehurst Residents’ Scholarship Foundation, comprising charitable senior residents at Blakehurst Senior Living Community, recently presented 46 qualified Blakehurst employees with individual scholarships for post-secondary education. Typical scholarship applicants are high school seniors, college students and adults with several years’ work experience who wish to further enhance their education and currently work at Blakehurst. 

More than 100 scholarship recipients, residents, staff, family and friends attended the annual event. Since 2003, more than 500 scholarships totaling more than $750,000 have been awarded. Recipients of the scholarships are attending Morgan State University, Towson University, University of South Carolina and Johns Hopkins University’s Peabody Institute, to name a few.