Bookmarked 1

Add These Titles to Your Summer Reading List, Courtesy of Baltimore County Public Library

The Kiss Quotient

by Helen Hoang

Stella is a successful econometrician with autism spectrum disorder who isn’t a big fan of dating, but her parents want grandchildren. She hires a male escort to to teach her about physical and emotional intimacy. Michael, a handsome and attractive man who recently joined the ranks of male escorts to pay for his mother’s medical bills, quickly becomes attracted to Stella. Stella and Michael are refreshing, complex characters whose love story is compelling, rewarding and oh-so-spicy!

How to Love a Jamaican

by Alexia Arthurs

Readers of short stories will relish these 11 tales from 2017 Plimpton Prize winner Alexia Arthurs. These compelling and beautifully written stories serve as a dialogue about race, immigration and colonialization. 

Lying in Wait

by Liz Nugent

Lydia Fitzsimons is determined to control everyone and everything in her life — even if it means she has to kill to do it. This psychological thriller is full of betrayals and lies, making it impossible to put down. For fans of Gillian Flynn and Ruth Ware.

America for Beginners

by Leah Franqui

Recently widowed, Pival Sengupta leaves India for a two-week tour of the United States. Her final destination is California, where she hopes to find what really happened to her son, Rahi.

The Sun Does Shine

by Anthony Ray Hinton

Anthony Ray Hinton spent three decades trapped in solitary confinement after he was convicted of two murders he did not commit. He recounts his 30-year journey and shows how you can take away a man’s freedom, but you can’t take away his imagination, humor or joy.

The Last Time I Lied

by Riley Sager

After playing Two Truths and a Lie, Emma’s roommates slipped out of their cabin at summer camp and were never seen again. Fifteen years later, Emma has been invited back to the grand reopening of the camp and is hoping to find some closure and finally be rid of the memories that torture her night and day. Instead, she finds herself in danger as she searches for clues to solve the mystery of her friends’ disappearance.

The Seasonaires

by Janna King

If you miss the heyday of MTV soaps like “Laguna Beach,” here is your summer escape. Several 20-something brand ambassadors gather in a Nantucket beach house for the summer as part of a brand-strategy brainstorm for clothing line Lyndon Wyld. But someone is going to end up dead.

The Promise of the Grand Canyon: John Wesley Powell’s Perilous Journey and His Vision for the American West

by John F. Ross

In 1869, Civil War veteran John Wesley Powell became the first person to navigate the Colorado River and led a perilous expedition through what he called the “Grand Canyon.” Author John F. Ross tells the story of this pioneering figure; the incredible trek he and his team undertook; and Powell’s life as a naturalist, geologist and one of the West’s first conservationists.

Warlight

by Michael Ondaatje

Twenty-five years after the release of “The English Patient,” Michael Ondaatje returns to familiar territory. The novel is set in London after the Blitz as two teenage children, Nathaniel and Rachel, are abandoned by their parents and left in the care of a mysterious man known as The Moth. Twelve years later, Nathaniel recounts the details of this time period in this haunting and beautiful novel.

Amateur Hour: Motherhood in Essays and Swear Words

by Kimberly Harrington

Dive into an honest and mostly funny take on the joys and frustrations of being a parent and a partner, from ad-exec and McSweeney’s humor writer Harrington. Readers will alternate been tears and laughter…sometimes both at the same time.

The Watergate: Inside America’s Most Infamous Address

by Joseph Rodota

The word Watergate might conjure up memories of political scandal or visions of a building on the Potomac. Writer and political consultant Joseph Rodota paints a vivid portrait of this landmark and the list of colorful characters who have lived there.